Per the Tangent style guide candidates are listed alphabetically by last name.
Winners are denoted with (w).

President of the United States

George W. Bush (R)
Electors: 286 (w)

Alabama (9)
Alaska (3)
Arizona (10)
Arkansas (6)
Colorado (9)
Florida (27)
Georgia (15)
Idaho (4)
Indiana (11)
Iowa (7)
Kansas (6)
Kentucky (8)
Louisiana (9)
Mississippi (6)
Missouri (11)
Montana (3)
Nebraska (5)
Nevada (5)
New Mexico (5)
North Carolina (15)
North Dakota (3)
Ohio (20)
Oklahoma (7)
South Carolina (8)
South Dakota (3)
Tennessee (11)
Texas (34)
Utah (5)
Virginia (13)
West Virginia (5)
Wyoming (3)

John Kerry (D)
Electors: 252

California (55)
Connecticut (7)
Delaware (3)
D.C. (3)
Hawaii (4)
Illinois (21)
Maine (4)
Maryland (10)
Massachusetts (12)
Michigan (17)
Minnesota (10)
New Hampshire (4)
New Jersey (15)
New York (31)
Oregon (7)
Pennsylvania (21)
Rhode Island (4)
Vermont (3)
Washington (11)
Wisconsin (10)

U.S. President (Virginia)
Michael Badnarik (L):0.3%
George W. Bush (R):53.7% (w)
John Kerry (D):45.5%
Michael Peroutka (C):0.3%
U.S. House, VA-11th
Tom Davis (R):60.2% (w)
Kenneth Longmyer (D):38.3%
Joseph Oddo (I):1.4%
Virginia Redist. Amend.
Yes:85.8% (w)
Virginia Succession Amend.
Yes:87.2% (w)
Fairfax Human Svc. Bonds
Yes:70.0% (w)
Fairfax Library Bonds
Yes:70.8% (w)
Fairfax Parks Bonds
Yes:73.4% (w)
Fairfax Transp. Bonds
Yes:78.5% (w)
  • Off on a Tangent can now project that President George W. Bush (R) has won reelection with at least 274 electoral votes. This projection is based on a careful examination of mainstream media projections and official returns.
  • Senator John Kerry (D-MA) has not yet conceded the contentious battleground state of Ohio, but Bush leads there by at least two percent (over 100,000 votes) with all precincts reporting. While there are still many provisional and absentee ballots outstanding, they will not be enough to swing the election in Kerry’s favor.
  • In addition, Off on a Tangent can project that the Republican party will gain seats in both the House of Representatives and the Senate. Exact numbers will come when they are available. Of note, Senate minority leader Tom Daschle (D-SD) has lost his reelection bid to Republican John Thune.