U.S. Secretary of State Colin Powell, Agriculture Secretary Ann Veneman, Education Secretary Rod Paige, and Energy Secretary Spencer Abraham have submitted their resignations to President Bush, reports the Associated Press. They are all expected to step down on or around Bush’s inauguration, which will be on January 20, 2005.

When an incumbent president wins a reelection bid, it is normal for a round of resignations and reshuffling to occur in the cabinet.

Powell, Veneman, Paige, and Abraham join Attorney General John Ashcroft and Commerce Secretary Donald Evans who announced their resignations last week. President Bush has nominated White House counsel Alberto Gonzales to succeed Ashcroft; no other nominations have been announced.

The six resignations thus far account for 40 percent of the President’s 15-member cabinet.