Trump Impeached Again


The United States House of Representatives has voted to impeach President Donald Trump (R) a second time. The House cast votes this afternoon on one article of impeachment alleging that Trump incited an insurrection when he spoke to supporters on January 6, 2021. Some of those supporters rioted and stormed the U.S. Capitol.

The 232-197 vote was largely along party lines. Among those who voted, all House Democrats voted to impeach, and all but ten Republicans voted against. Four members, all Republicans, were not present or did not cast votes.

Trump was impeached on other charges in 2019, and is the first president to have been impeached multiple times. Only two previous presidents have been impeached—President Andrew Johnson (D) in 1868 and President Bill Clinton (D) in 1998. Both were acquitted in Senate trials, and no president has ever been removed from office. Articles of impeachment against President Richard Nixon (R) passed the House Judiciary Committee in 1974 but Nixon resigned before they could be considered by the full House.

The U.S. Senate holds impeachment trials, which are presided over by the Chief Justice of the U.S. Supreme Court. It would require a vote by a two-thirds super-majority of senators to convict and remove the president from office. Trump’s term in office ends at noon on January 20, and it is unclear if an impeachment trial can be held after the subject of the impeachment is no longer in office.

Scott Bradford is a writer and technologist who has been putting his opinions online since 1995. He believes in three inviolable human rights: life, liberty, and property. He is a Catholic Christian who worships the trinitarian God described in the Nicene Creed. Scott is a husband, nerd, pet lover, and AMC/Jeep enthusiast with a B.S. degree in public administration from George Mason University.