I am running as an independent candidate for President of the United States of America.

The three main focus areas of my campaign are: human rights, federalism, and balanced budgets. A detailed review of these and many other issues can be found on the campaign web site.

Politicians, both Republican and Democratic, have married themselves to their respective party talking points. Many of these talking points are fundamentally misguided. Those that aren’t are, too often, just talking points. For example, the Republicans talk a lot about federalism and balanced budgets . . . but once they get power, the government keeps growing and the debts keep mounting. And Democrats talk a lot about human rights . . . but don’t seem to know what they are and often govern in a way that is directly opposed to them.

It’s time to get the United States of America back on track. No more hesitation. No more dissembling. No more partisan nonsense. No more lies. No more dumb excuses.

The campaign is managed by a registered campaign committee, Scott Bradford for President LLC (SCC ID S812506; FEC ID C00699330). It can accept donations and receive royalties on merchandise sales, and its funds may only be used for campaign purposes.

Learn More

Special Council Robert Mueller (R) has concluded his investigation into the Russian government’s interference in the 2016 U.S. presidential election. As required by law, Mueller today delivered his final report to Attorney General William Barr (R).

Investigations into Russian interference began in 2016 under the authority of the U.S. Department of Justice. After taking office in 2017, Attorney General Jeff Sessions (R) recused himself from the Russia investigation because, as a senator, he had contacts with Russian Ambassador Sergei Kislyak before the election. Deputy Attorney General Rod Rosenstein (R) served as acting attorney general with regard to this investigation.

After Trump fired then Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) Director James Comey (R), and then made controversial comments tying that firing to the Russia investigation, Rosenstein appointed Mueller to continue the investigation as special council on May 17, 2017.

Over the course of the Mueller investigation, various indictments and criminal referrals have been made against Russian nationals involved with election interference. Additional indictments were made against some officials associated with the Trump campaign, including Michael Flynn, Paul Manafort, and Roger Stone, for matters not directly linked to Russian interference. A former Trump attorney, Michael Cohen, was also charged with campaign finance violations and fraud. Other sealed indictments have likely been made, but this is unconfirmed and details have not been released. (Ed. note, March 24: A summary report submitted by Barr states that no further indictments are recommended, and no sealed indictments have yet to be made public.)

The law does not require that the special council report be made public, however the attorney general has the authority to release it if he chooses. The U.S. House of Representatives voted this month 420-0 in a nonbinding resolution that called for the report to be released to Congress and to the public (with redaction of classified material or confidential grand jury testimony). Trump has also said that he believes the report should be made public.

In his official notification to Congress that the investigation had been completed, Barr states that he “may be in a position to advise you of the Special Council’s principle conclusions as soon as this weekend.” He additionally stated that he is consulting with Rosenstein and Mueller to “determine what other information from the report can be released to Congress and the public,” and that he is “committed to as much transparency as possible.”

I got my 1977 Jeep J-10 pickup back from the restoration shop near the end of last year. While it is in good mechanical shape, I still have to fix some things that were ‘out of scope’ for their work. I also need to install some aftermarket and improved parts, and generally put my personal stamp on it before it goes into my normal driving rotation. Between the weather and my other commitments, it has been slow going. I can only work on it when the weather permits and when I have some free time. Getting those two conditions to align has been difficult so far, but I expect that it’ll get better when spring comes.

With a handful of small exceptions, it’s easy to get parts for the front half of the J-10. Although the Jeep trucks never sold particularly well, tons of parts are interchangeable with those for the other SJ chassis Jeeps, including the much better selling Cherokees and Wagoneers. The Wagoneer was in production for an incredible twenty-eight years—from 1963 to 1991—and many parts were the same for the entire run. There are tons of original parts out there, and there are enough SJs out there that many OEM-equivalent parts are still being made brand new.

. . . Continued

Northam, Fairfax, Herring

The last week has been unlike anything I’ve ever seen in Virginia state politics. All three of our statewide constitutional officers—the governor, lieutenant governor, and attorney general—have been embroiled in controversy.

I try not to jump to conclusions without having access to the facts. So for the past week I have been reading about and digesting these controversies and evaluating the available evidence. I have come to some conclusions about what needs to happen next.

. . . Continued

TeroVesalainen, Pixabay, CC0

Has America’s ongoing obsession with low-gluten diets caused the inexorable increase in mass shooting deaths?

It’s a pretty dumb question, and the obvious answer is “no.” But with some raw data, spreadsheet software, time, and creativity, it’s pretty easy to make a graph that seems to imply a negative correlation between Americans’ average consumption of wheat and the trend in mass shooting deaths.

All you need is the United States Department of Agriculture’s data on wheat consumption, population estimates from the United States Census (1990-2000, 2000-2010, and 2010-present), and the mass shooting data from Mother Jones. Throw all of that into a spreadsheet, do some math, make a graph, and here you go:

. . . Continued